January 21, 2007

All Glory is Fading

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:01 pm by John Roney

I was thinking about some co-authored books that I had the potential to write and produce, books which would help give me more credibility and an expert status for the topic’s I’d write about, and being okay with not pursuing them. These books made sense as part of the plan when I was working in the publishing business, but truly, they don’t necessarily help me accomplish my end outcomes, mainly to build wealth and sponsor missionaries (and to build an organization of some kind that will hold cash-flow producing assets, the profits of which would be designated to advance God’s kingdom).

This morning in church, (mcleanbible.org) Lon Solomon, describing a vacation over New Years said, “One morning I thought I would just get up and take a walk–it was a beautiful morning, and so it was just me and the Lord Jesus walking on the beach together and I love to walk right on the edge of the water where the waves wash up just around your feet. And as I was doing that I noticed something very interesting. I noticed that the water would roll up every few seconds and wash away the footprints that I had just made in the sand as I walked along.

“And it occured to me that this is the way life is–that as human beings, that our footprints are only temporary… that the only person who leaves footprints in the sand of this world, footprints that the world can’t wash away, is the Lord Jesus himself. It reminded me of a scene from the great movie Patton that I had always wanted to use in a sermon but was never able to figure out how… and so I’m going to use it today. Watch the scene and see if you can recognize the connection I made.

“For over a thousand years, Roman conquerors returning from a war enjoyed the honor of a triumph–a tumultuous parade. In the procession came trumpeters and musicians and strange animals from the conquered territories, together with carts laden with treasure and captured armaments. The conqueror rode in a triumphal charriot, the days prisoners walking in chains before him. Sometimes his children, robed in white, rode with him in the charriot. A slave stood behind the conqueror holding a golden crown and whispering in his ear a warning that all glory is fleeting.”

“…that only what’s done for Christ will last.” -Lon Solomon

I think this is all very true, and all very relevant especially at this time in my life. My focus tends to shift to the long-term focus for my life, which is serving the Lord by serving people and by doing what I can to help advance His kingdom. And that’s it. Books and courses and doing all the things that lead to building my own name don’t really matter when I keep those outcomes in mind. And you know what, that feels really, really good. : )

Leave a Reply

