January 20, 2007

God Guides Our Footsteps

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:45 pm by John Roney

Perhaps as you look back at your career, you can see some of the different directions you have gone in. I have been out of high school for almost 5 years now. It seems like a long time, and a lot has happened, particularly in the last year (2006).

In October 2005, I met Alex Mandossian at the Big Seminar and began working for him as an intern shortly thereafter. In January of ’06 I started traveling with Alex to his different speaking engagements, acting as his assistant. In May, I met David Hancock of Morgan James Publishing and went to work with him helping to qualify new authors and do sales and copywriting and ghostwriting work for his publishing company.

Then I had two small speaking engagements myself in the fall of ’06 for Morgan James. At the same time, Alicia Pierce asked if I could come speak on behalf of MJP in Asia. I was overjoyed, but David said we weren’t ready for Asia yet, so that opportunity died quickly. Then towards the end of the year in October, MJP let me go as an employee and put me in charge of an imprint of my own called Apprentice Press. Apprentice Press became the name of my business as well.

At the end of the year, I began talking with Alicia Pierce of Impulsive Profits about speaking, training and serving opportunities in Asia and maybe beyond with Stephen. I fell in love with the idea. It’s amazing because I have always dreamed of sponsoring missionaries overseas, especially to Asia and India. Plus, I’ve always dreamed of being a speaker and a trainer. The idea of being able to put the dreams and the geography together, plus the potential income that goes along with speaking, all made for a most wonderful Christmas and end-of-the-year present. : )

I love serving at seminars and training events. I know I am still looking for my ideal place to serve, that area of passion, that thing that I am best at, that thing that I would do where time doesn’t seem to exist. I’ve found this kind of experience at marketing and business seminars. In fact, I’ve volunteered at one Harv Eker event and found it was one of the best weekends of my life. I loved the serving, loved the teamwork with the other volunteers, and loved the opportunities to get on stage with Harv and meet the other trainers.

I’m so happy and grateful for the potential for these kind of opportunities with Stephen and Alicia and Impulsive Profits. I don’t yet know what I will be doing, but I know its all about service at this point in my life. I know the Lord has plans for this experience. I truly hope it is long lasting and I can serve over the long-term. I leave the plans in the Lord’s hands-for His glory! I am merely His humble servant.

The point of all this is that God is in control, even when I try and fight for the steering wheel. I was making plans all during 2006 and God was guiding my footsteps, taking me in the directions he wanted me to go. When I look back, I realize that if things had of continued with Alex, I would have not had the publishing experience with Morgan James. And I realize that if things had of continued with Morgan James, I would not have the opportunities to pursue my dreams with Stephen and Alicia in speaking and serving around the world. It’s truly amazing how God works.

I’ve found the most strength in giving up my plans and giving up control of my life–giving that control over to God. After all, He knows everything about my life today and yesterday and about everything that will happen to me tomorrow. I have noticed that the Lord’s plans are always better than my own anyway, so I am glad that my plans fail, and His plans take their place. If you’re struggling with trying to control all the events of your life, you might want to try giving up too. Decide what you want, yes, but then give up the plans to Him. I think you’ll like the results. : ) -John

Leave a Reply

