January 14, 2007

Dig Your Well Before You’re Thirsty

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:09 am by John Roney

Reading the book by Harvey Mackay, Dig Your Well Before You’re Thirsty, I ran into the lesson “Your best network will develop from what you do best.”

For me, this is seminar work. I love marketing and business seminars. I love meeting like-minded people at them and staying in touch to provide value. I also love running around at the events, helping wherever I can–whether I am on staff or not. And true to Mackay’s maxim, my network has developed from this environment. I believe I will be able to get back into this environment when I start working for Impulsive Profits with Stephen Pierce.

Harvey tells the story of how he got accepted to the local country club… for free (what were probably 10’s of thousands in initiation fees and dues). Now for me, that would never work. First of all, I have never played a game of golf in my whole life. I have been to a driving range a few times with my dad, but other than that, my closest experience with a golf course was in high school when I once snuck on at night with a friend and stole some golf balls I found laying around–just so I could hit them with a baseball bat the next day. Secondly, I am not used to being around people who hang out at a country club. I wasn’t raised in a wealthy family. There were times growing up when my dad had to use food stamps to get food.

But when it comes to business and marketing seminars I’ve found my home. I love not only listening to the information of the speakers at the events, but also love running into friends I have met at previous seminars and events. Plus its great to meet new people that I can help in one way or another, even if it is just consulting with them or encouraging them on their path to success.

Since starting to attend seminars in October 2005, my network has grown to more than a hundred successful business people and marketers, including more than 25 millionaires. These people have helped me along the way, some of them even agreeing to co-author books with me. This is just one example of the power of seminars and the power of a network.

1 Comment »

  1. Iris Weaver said,

    Thank for making this valuable information available to the public.


Leave a Reply

