January 14, 2007

Ask, Seek & Knock…. and The Secret?

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:25 am by John Roney

If you are a Christian, how do you feel about the Secret DVD?

I’ve heard from a friend that some Christians get upset with what the Secret DVD teaches. I’m not sure exactly because I did not get upset, but rather, I was grateful for seeing the Secret movie. I think it helps with what I am focusing on. For the past few months, I had been pretty negative about life, business and especially money.

I’ve learned so much from this movie and could see that I was in this downward spiral with my attitude. Just in the 3 times that I have watched this movie so far my attitude has taken a wonderful turn for the better. Plus, its a neat movie. I am a Christian and I think the movie is for Christians too. The principles in this dvd are Biblical, though admittedly, they are not shared in a Biblical way. Jesus said, in the book of Matthew:

Ask, Seek, Knock

7“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. 9“Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! 12So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.

—-This is a fundamental principle and it works. Just before Christmas, I needed the software program ACT. It would cost $200 to go out and buy it. I had asked my mom for it for Christmas and she was planning on buying it for me…. that is until I won the software I wanted! And not only did I win the software, I won the best version of the software.

My friend Travis Campbell, who runs training programs on ACT, put out an announcement about this contest he was having, about who could give him the best testimonial. I didn’t even think much about winning the contest, but since Travis is such a good friend of mine and have spent good time with him, I wanted to give him a testimonial that might help his business. And, praise the Lord, I won the contest! Travis chose my testimonial as the best and then mailed me the software I had wanted.

Now I am starting to do this with some of the other things that I need, like the new laptop that I need. I am starting by being grateful for the one that I have now because it works great, its just a little slow, and on long plane flights I can’t use it much because the battery life is so short. I’m glad for having this one and look forward to getting a new Sony Vaio mini laptop.

1 Comment »

  1. Sounds great to me! I just heard about this on Oprah.


Leave a Reply

