April 6, 2007

Great Tool for Managing Personal Projects

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:22 pm by John Roney

There are two tools I use more than anything else in managing the different projects and outcomes I have, plus any information I’m currently using or needing access to: The 2007 versions of both Microsoft Outlook & Microsoft OneNote.

OneNote is a new program that acts as something of a visual filing system, allowing me to store information in different areas to access later with relative ease. This is where I keep information on any affiliate programs I have, all the projects and outcomes that I’m working on and any other information that I find useful or necessary to keep.

It’s a good spot even for something like a travel itinerary. When I get an email or view a website with a place ticket, I simply “print the document” to OneNote, and then it allows me to save it as an image in my travel section.

Outlook has been around for as long as I can recall and is a great tool for email and scheduling. I do all of my email with Outlook, but for scheduling I personally use my PDA phone because it’s always with me and very easy to use. But when it comes to following up on items, I do use outlooks follow up tools and calendar and to-do sections.

But above either of these two tools is a strategic way of looking at the outcomes I have and deciding how and when to do them. I am very far from perfect but those I work with seem to think I get a lot done and am very organized. Most of what I have learned about time and priority management came from studying Tony Robbins’ time management program called The Time Of Your Life. It’s a great program and I’d recommend that everyone go through it at least once. But of course, God’s naturally given talents play more into someone’s success, with applied hard work I believe, than any other single factor or training course.

Personality has a lot to do with productivity and good time management too. If you’re a student of Stephen Pierce’s and you’ve played the Know Your Brain Game then you’ll appreciate the fact that I’m half-red and half-green—I guess kind of like a Christmas tree. =)

In His Service,

-john

P.S. Green, in the Know Your Brain Game system, is a personality descriptor of someone who is analytical, while Red is the driven, results and money-driven type personality. =)

4 Comments »

  1. Hey Christmas Tree Boy :)

    I’m mostly blue and coincidentally, blue is my favorite color too!
    Blue is an investigator.

    Remember to read Stephen Pierce and Bob Proctor’s latest report: Attraction Accelerator Report. It’s FREE!

  2. Ben Shaffer said,

    I couldn’t agree more. I don’t know what i’d do if my outlook stopped working. I guess I’d have to learn how to manage my time.

  3. […] students; I’ve used it for 3 years now and I can’t imagine how I would’ve lived without it.  Great Tool for Managing Personal Projects  OneNote takes the clutter on your desk and puts it on your computer  Why i love Microsoft […]

  4. Like your article. I do time management training in Leicester in England and always enjoy learning about how people work to organise themselves and others.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

